Collecting the 'Harvard Classics' - Antique Trader

September 13, 2013 – 09:42
SOLD Bookcases, Library Cabinet - Harp Gallery Antiques

Anyone strolling into almost any large antique bookstore has a good chance of finding the 50-volume set titled The Harvard Classics.

Sometimes called “The 5-Foot Shelf of Books, ” the set, which was first published in 1910, was designed to substitute for a liberal education to everyone who read it diligently. Many people have, in fact, had their educational horizons broadened by The Harvard Classics. Malcolm X, for example, read the complete set while he was incarcerated.

The Harvard Classics was the creation of Charles William Eliot, the president of Harvard University in the early 20th century. Eliot, who was appointed president in 1869 at the age of 35, was one of the United States’ foremost educators. Under his leadership, which lasted until 1909, Harvard became a national institution. It was one of the first schools to use standardized entrance examinations and to organize itself into specific schools and departments.

Eliot’s inspiration for The Harvard Classics was his firm belief, as he wrote in its 1910 introduction, that “Within the limits of 50 volumes, containing about 22, 000 pages, I (can) provide the means of obtaining such a knowledge of ancient and modern literature as seems essential to the 20th century idea of a cultivated man. … (A)ny ambitious American family might use (this) to advantage, even if their early opportunities of education had been scanty.” This goal, Eliot felt, could be accomplished in only 15 minutes of planned reading a day.

Eliot’s insistence upon the “5-foot” element of the set reflected his idea of a small core selection of writers across the fields of history, science, literature, religion, education and politics. Originally, Eliot had announced that a 3-foot shelf would be enough to cover the basic readings in these fields, but he soon expanded the minimum number of needed books and a 5-foot shelf became his norm.

Of the 50 volumes, several are devoted to specific writers and others are collections of many writers in a particular field. Three of the volumes, for example, are centered on English poetry, with poets from Chaucer to Whitman represented. Another entire volume is on American historical documents.

Among the individual writers who have an entire volume dedicated solely to them are such figures as St. Augustine, Homer, Adam Smith, Dante and Darwin. In his editing of these writers, however, Eliot made some surprising choices. Darwin’s Voyage of the Beagle is included, for example, but not his Origin of Species. On the other hand, Milton’s Complete Poems are a separate volume of the Classics.

Many of the writers have introductions — prepared by Eliot — that summarize their works. Eliot did not hesitate to give his own interpretation in many instances. Machiavelli, for example, is described by him as really being a secret republican who had to write in a style suitable for princes in order to get his work published.


Related posts:

  1. Antique Bookshelf Lamp
  2. Antique Bookcases with leaded glass doors
  3. Antique Bookshelves with glass doors